How I Accidentally Discovered a Cheat Code of The Universe

My journey to live a story worth telling

Gregory Russell Benedikt
5 min readFeb 6, 2024

I still remember the first time I heard it. I was in Greece on my post-college graduation trip and we were dutifully fulfilling our role as American tourists by staking out the liveliest nightclub we could find.

The night was perfect. We were on a rooftop with a bar in the middle of it, enjoying the light Mediterranean breeze that was gently blowing. After about an hour of my friend accosting the bartender to serve us Jager-bombs, (apparently an exclusively American concept), a bathroom break was in order.

My buddy and I emerged from the men’s room and entered a communal hand-washing station — something I hadn’t seen before in America. We were washing our hands, minding our own business when two beautiful Greek women walked up to the sinks.

With a mischievous look in his eye, my friend turned to me and said:

“Fortune favors the bold.”

Before I had the chance to respond, he strode over to the two women and said something ridiculous about me wanting to borrow their lip gloss. As heinous as the request was, it got some laughs and the two women ended up joining our group for the rest of the night.

A hypothesis is formed

--

--